Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award Call 2017

The Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award is an annual prize of £5,000 awarded to innovative scholarship demonstrated within a PhD thesis in any discipline within management and organisation studies. The award is supported by the Journal of Management Studies (JMS) and the Society for the Advancement of Management Studies (SAMS), a charitable organisation which supports capacity building in business and management research.

Grigor McClelland was the founding editor of JMS, the initiator of SAMS, and the founding Director of Manchester Business School.


The Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award aims to promote and recognize innovative PhD research in management and organization studies. The Award does not specify any preference towards topics or methods; its primary focus is to recognize and award doctoral research that is expansive and imaginative in that it covers significantly new terrain or counters existing thinking within management and organisational research.


To be eligible for the 2017 Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award, candidates must have completed (i.e. a thesis must have been successfully examined) their doctoral dissertation (PhD or DBA) within 2016. Applicants are expected to certify that the work submitted is an independent and original piece of research (but under the supervision of senior colleagues) and provide confirmation of their qualification from their awarding institution.

Application process

Candidates who wish to be considered for the award are asked to submit one digital copy of their entire dissertation (in English) and an abstract of up to 5 pages single-spaced, (tables or bibliography are not included in the limit), before 16:00 GMT on Tuesday, 28th February, 2017. The abstract should provide a summary of the thesis which details the originality of the theory development and empirical results as well as the implications for research and practice. Applications for the award should be electronically submitted to Margaret Turner, SAMS Administrator, (

Award Committee and Judging Process

The shortlisting and selection of the award winner will be carried out by a panel of six senior scholars within management and organization studies. The panel consists of representatives from SAMS, JMS and EGOS. The prize will be awarded to the work that, in the opinion of the panel, was truly novel and creative in its theory development, use of methods or the empirical contexts covered in the dissertation.

The winner will be announced during a special session at the 2017 EGOS conference in Copenhagen, Denmark. In this special session the shortlisted candidates for the award will present their research, followed by the award presentation and a reception. A stipend will be awarded to each of the finalists to cover reasonable travel and accommodation expenses for attending this session, plus conference registration.

Previous Winners

2016: Douglas Lepisto, Western Michigan University, USA
Reason For Being: Exploring the Emergence and Members’ Responses to Organizational Purpose in an Athletic Footwear and Apparel Company.

2015: Hila Lifshitz-Assaf, New York University, USA
Shifting Loci of Innovation: A Study of Knowledge Boundaries, Identity and Innovation at NASA.

2014: Ryan Raffaelli, Harvard Business School, USA
Identity and Institutional Change in a Mature Field: The Re-Emergence of the Swiss Watchmaking Industry, 1970-2008.

2013: Henrika Franck, Hanken School of Economics, Finland
Ethics in Strategic Management: An inquiry into Otherness of a Strategy Process.

2012: Tyler Wry, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Embedded Categories: Three Studies on the Institutional Shaping of Categories and Category Effects.

2011: Jean-Philippe Vergne, University of Western Ontario, Canada
Playing with fire: Category-level strategies for dealing with public disapproval. The case of the global arms industry (1996-2007).

A pdf version of the Call can be found here: Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award Call 2017