News & Announcements

view archived news

Latest News

The Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award 2013

Thursday 01 November 2012

The Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award

The Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award is an annual prize of £5,000 awarded to innovative scholarship demonstrated within a PhD thesis in any discipline within management and organisation studies. The award is supported by the Journal of Management Studies (JMS) and the Society for the Advancement of Management Studies (SAMS), a charitable organisation which supports capacity building in business and management research.

Grigor McClelland is the founding editor of JMS, the initiator of SAMS, and the founding Director of Manchester Business School.

The Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award aims to promote and recognize innovative PhD research in management and organization studies. The Award does not specify any preference towards topics or methods; its primary focus is to recognize and award doctoral research that is expansive and imaginative in that it covers significantly new terrain or counters existing thinking within management and organisational research.

To be eligible for the 2013 Grigor McClelland Doctoral Dissertation Award, candidates must have completed their doctoral dissertation (i.e. a thesis must have been successfully examined) within 2012. Applicants are expected to certify that the work submitted is an independent and original piece of research (but under the supervision of senior colleagues).

Application process
Candidates who wish to be considered for the award are asked to submit one digital copy of their entire dissertation (in English) and a 5-page abstract before the 28th February, 2013. The abstract needs to provide a summary of the thesis which details the originality of the theory development and empirical results as well as the implications for research and practice. Applications for the award (including a copy of the thesis and an abstract) should be electronically submitted to Jo Brudenell (

Award Committee and Judging Process
The short-listing and selection of the award winner will be carried out by a jury of six senior scholars within management and organization studies. The jury consists of representatives from SAMS, JMS and EGOS. The prize will be awarded to the work that, in the opinion of the jury, was truly novel and creative in its theory development, use of methods or the empirical contexts covered in the dissertation.

The winner will be announced during a plenary session at the 2013 EGOS conference.

There will also be a smaller special session prior to or during the conference. In this special session the shortlisted candidates for the award (typically four) present their research, followed by the award presentation. A stipend of up to £500 will be awarded to each of the finalists to cover reasonable travel expenses for attending this session. Runners up will also be awarded £1,000 each.

Latest News

Durham Business School, Durham University, Mill Hill Lane, Durham, DH1 3LB  
Tel: 0191 334 5395  |  Fax: 0191 334 5201  |  email:
a daelnet production
Webcraft by  q u a n t u m   d o t   k n o w l e d g e
Copyright © 2006 quantum dot knowledge